[day 11] – Assinibione Park Zoo

27 Apr

Warm days like today feel wasted if not enjoyed outside, so we went to the zoo today! Waldo the 36 year old grizzly died recently and they had flowers and such posted on his sign. My favourite animal to watch are the monkeys though, they jump and play. I’m not sure which type of monkey it was, but there was a baby one and it was too cute. Despite its young age, it jumped and played like the other monkeys. It also liked to hang off of mom’s belly. It was just too cute for words. The staff was super nice today, when we went to look at these colourful and vibrant birds, the staff member was about to feed them (actually, I saw him carrying a tray of food and followed him…) and saw that I was snapping away at the birds, so asked if I wanted to go into the cage to take the photos as he had to open the cage to feed them anyway. The birds all fluttered around as they were frightened by this new massive object (me) in their cage. It was kind of hard to get good photos though, as they were moving, the lighting wasn’t that great, and I am not that steady of a camera holder. There were geese everywhere at the zoo as they’re coming back and most of them really didn’t care if you came close to them, which really surprised me (I’ve been too close before and they hiss and run at me!).
I had quite a difficult time with trying to focus beyond the cage though, as you can see with some of the pictures. At times, I could but at other times I couldn’t. I guess it comes with practice. D is my hero and has lent me his two lenses Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM (which I had on the entire time at the zoo) and Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM. I am falling in love with his lenses–which is rather dangerous because they’re quite expensive! I LOVE how they focus so quietly compared to the 18-55mm that came with my camera. The only thing about the 24-105mm that I am not used to is that when you use the zoom, you have to be steady or use a tripod. The zoom on my lens kit one was next to nothing so this wasn’t an issue. I am enjoying having the zoom though, and the macro is better on it than on my 18-55mm as well. I will be quite sad when I have to depart with the lenses and return them though.

4 Responses to “[day 11] – Assinibione Park Zoo”

  1. debbe April 28, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Wow! I love that HDR photo of the pavillion. I call it a pavillion because I have no idea what building it is. And the slow exposure on the waterfall is awesome! It looks great! Good job!! Haha, I didn’t even know we had kangeroos in our zoo!

  2. snapaholic April 28, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    LMAO! It’s not a kangaroo! It’s a wallaby.

    I don’t know what that building is called either. Go get Photomatix Pro, its awesome for HDR!

  3. Zabrina May 6, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Aww they made a lil shrine at the zoo for the grizzly bear! Our zoo is such a sad and miserable place, kinda embarrassed about it actually. I wonder what the insiders of the zoo think….kinda like how people on the inside of restaurants…they “know” stuff haha

Leave a Reply

