[day 28] – ice cream cone cupcakes

14 May

I saw these ice cream cone cupcakes in a cupcake calender at Chapters last year and only remembered about them recently. It was a little bit of a disaster because I didn’t have a recipe and just winged it, but in the end, they turned out and tasted good—and looked super cute 🙂

cone cupcakes 1I only bought a box of 18 cones thinking that it would be more than enough for the amount of batter one box of cake mix would make…
cone cupakes 2Of course I was wrong and I had extra batter. I don’t like wasting and topped off the cones with the remaining batter…
cone cupakes 4This was the result… the batter leaked over the edges of some of the cones and it was a mess!
cone cupakes 5As you can see, the cake was too high on the cones, I was aiming to have the cake rise only to the rim of the cone.
cone cupakes 3This is strawberry jello powder mixed into whipped vanilla Betty Crocker icing.
cone cupakes 6
cone cupakes 7

THE FINISHED PRODUCT.

Since I don’t have the exact recipe, I can only tell you what I did…

Ingredients

1 box white cake mix and ingredients required to prepare the batter (eggs, oil, milk, water, etc)

1 container whipped icing

1 small pkg strawberry jello powder

24 flat bottomed ice cream cones (this is only an approximation as I only had 18 cones and it was not enough)

Directions

1. Follow the instructions on the cake mix box to prepare the batter and preheat the oven.

2. Fill the cake mix batter till the cone is 2/3 full.

3. Place filled cones into a glass baking pan.

4. Bake the cones for the length of time specified on the cake mix box.

5. Using a handheld mixer, blend the jello powder and icing till the colour is smooth while waiting for the cones to bake.

6. Let the cones cool completely before icing (you may choose to use a piping tip and bag to do so).

7. ENJOY!

12 Responses to “[day 28] – ice cream cone cupcakes”

  1. kris May 15, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    Good job still all of heart and effort went in to it, love your ways

    kris

  2. debbe May 15, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    These look like so much fun to make! They turned out delicious! I’m really surprised that you used strawberry jello powder!! I was wondering how they turned out so deliciously strawberry tasting!

    • snapaholic May 15, 2010 at 2:58 am #

      Maybe I’ll make them for next potluck!

      • Nicole May 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

        an easier way to do these is to use a muffin tin and fill the cups 1/2 full of batter then inverting the cones on top of the batter and baking. the cake rises and bakes right into the cone.

      • snapaholic May 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

        Oh! That is a great idea! Thanks!

  3. Pennies on a Platter May 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    I remember my mom making these for my elementary school parties! Awww…the memories… 🙂 Wow, has it been 20+ years?? Thanks for the throw back!

  4. louis vuitton June 9, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Greetings, I enjoy your article. This is a good site and I wanted to post a note to let you know, great job! Thanks Tammy

    Louis Vuitton

    louis vuitton

  5. startingoveringermany December 2, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    This is a wonderful idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention [day 28] – ice cream cone cupcakes « Freshly Squeezed from my T1i – [PROJECT 365] -- Topsy.com - May 15, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Crystal Watanabe, Manuela Durson. Manuela Durson said: [day 28] – ice cream cone cupcakes « Freshly Squeezed from my T1i …: I saw these ice cream cone cupcakes in a cu… http://bit.ly/aG1b0J […]

  2. Day 29 | Something In Latin - May 15, 2010

    […] Day 29 Today was such a treat! Snapaholic called and informed me that she was dropping something off, and what do I see when I open the door? A beautifully wrapped cupcake – except it’s in a cone!! […]

  3. How to make cupcakes in ice cream cones - May 16, 2010

    […] [day 28] – ice cream cone cupcakes « Freshly Squeezed fr&#959m m&#1091 T1i – [PROJ… […]

Leave a Reply

