[day 81 – July 6] – Fude

8 Jul

Three posts for day 79! It was quite a day! R took me out for dinner at Fude. I had heard from Z that it wasn’t that great of a place, but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt because R had already planned it and made reservations already, and sometimes I like things that Z doesn’t like anyway.

Fude is on the upper level of a building, so their patio is actually a balcony that outlooks Osbourne. I was quite excited about this, so we requested to sit outside–better lighting for photos! We lucked out and got one at the very back of the patio, so there was a little more privacy (I get a little camera shy sometimes when lots of people are around and not want to whip out my camera and start shooting at things).

For some reason, they shut off the OPEN sign not that long after we got there… perhaps it was because they ran out of a lot of the dishes already (which we wanted!). We has a really good waitress though, she was friendly and explained the menu to us when she found out it was our first time there.

IMG_5059

I couldn’t resist taking a photo of our reflection in the glass of a massage place!

IMG_5069Squirrellytini & Dockside Popsicle. (You can see them better in the first photo).

Squirellytini was absolutely disgusting–it had vodka, amaretto (which I like), and frangelico (which I like). I don’t mind vodka, and I liked the last two, so I thought it’d be good, but I was wrong, very wrong. The dockside popsicle was pretty good (vodka, blue curacao, melon liqueur, fresh limeade).

IMG_5066

Odd that they garnished with a lemon instead of a lime though, you’d think it’d be a lime because it’s limeade).

IMG_5096

The waitress apologized that the kitchen was backed up and brough us some focaccia bread with some sort of olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip.

IMG_5098So after we finished the bread, we waited, and waited, and waited for our appetizer (hyper seared tuna). I was drinking my water as I waited and got this shot of the ice cubes. I’m not sure how long we waited as we chatted the time away, but it was probably at least an hour after we got our bread before the waitress brought us more food.

IMG_5103It wasn’t even our appetizer that came. This was R’s entree, Crimson Curry Sauté – perfectly sautéed Manitoba Beef tenderloin in a rich house made creamy coconut red curry sauce served with crisp sautéed vegetables and ginger infused basmati rice. It was actually his third choice as they were out of his first and second choice. It was good though, the tenderloin was definitely tender and juicy.

IMG_5104

Boomerang Gorang –an Indonesian classic reworked. curried basmati & Manitoba wild ricesautéed in our exclusive “boom” sauce with celery, red peppers, red onion, & bananas. toppedwith mango, pineapple, tart granny smith apples. to bring on the cool: house-made rhubarb chutney. I added chicken to the order. This was also good, with a nice kick to it. I’m a sucker for dishes with fruit on it though. Both dishes we ordered were good, but where was our appetizer? Turns out our waitress had forgot to punch it in! She said she was super sorry and it was on her.

IMG_5105This is a random picture, I know, but I thought the sign was rather different. It was funny, because we watched him walk to his spot, sit down, take out the cap for people to put money in, and take some of his own change out of his pocket and put it into the cap to make it look like people had been giving him change.

IMG_5112So our appetizer finally came. Hyper Seared Tuna -fair trade, locally roasted espresso seared sushi grade tuna  with asian vanilla  soy reduction for dippin’. When we got it, right away, we looked at each other and said it tasted burnt (good thing it was free)! I had another piece and realized it was the roasted expresso that gave it that burnt taste. We weren’t a fan of this one even though we both LOVE raw fish. They tried to make it “Asian” buy giving us wooden chopsticks to eat it with.

IMG_5115

Instead of mints, they had chocolate mint maple leafs–a nice touch I thought.

So was Z right about it being crappy at Fude? First off, I thought the service was awesome there, and so was the patio and atmosphere. The food was good, but not worth the price (you could get the same at a hole in the wall Asian restaurant.. well without the nice presentation). Would I go back? Probably not. It was a nice dinner with R though, and we got a free appetizer, and we got $20 off from a coupon I just so happened to get when I found out he wanted to take me to Fude, so I guess I really can’t complain.

One Response to “[day 81 – July 6] – Fude”

  1. debbe July 8, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    You got some great shots! It’s too bad that you had to wait such a long time!

Leave a Reply

